Connect with us

FNPN Announces the President's 2019 Humanitarian of the Year Awards at Conference

Posted 9 months ago by Jean Aertker

President Arlene Wright announced the very first recipients of the 2019 President’s Humanitarian Award at the annual conference on August 17, 2019 in Orlando, Florida.  This award was adopted by the Board of Directors as recommended by the Region Directors.  

Region 1 Director, Dr. Kathleen Wilson submitted the nominations for this award for the NP showing courage, sacrifice, unwavering strength and commitment to the health of their community. This year,  four NPs were recognized from Panama City, Florida:

Christine Bottkol, DNP, APRN, FNP-C 

Sarah Beth Guy, DNP, APRN, FNP

Janet Gysi, APRN, FNP-C 

Sharon Wolford, APRN, FNP -C 

In the aftermath of Hurricane Michael this past October 2018, we became aware of the awe-inspiring efforts of these four outstanding NPs who by stepping up to aid the community, stayed and provided much-needed continuity of care for the patients and neighbors under dire circumstances without electricity, housing, and essential supplies. We applaud our NP colleagues for all that they did and who will continue to help rebuild the North West Florida coastal community!