Fnpn 2016 header
2016 fnpn avatar
Florida Nurse Practitioner Network

Forum on Rural Health, Nursing Solutions and Policy Implications

Posted over 7 years ago by Regina Pommer

Register Now for June 13 AARP Forum on Rural Health, Nursing Solutions and Policy Implications

Join AARP, the National Rural Health Association, and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to hear about policy solutions for advancing health in rural America. Mary Wakefield, Administrator of the Health Resources and Services Administration, will provide the keynote presentation, discussing challenges facing rural health care and ways nursing can be maximized meet those challenges.

Representatives from the Veterans Administration, the Indian Health Service will join national policy experts and leaders from Texas, Arkansas Maine, and Colorado to examine how to improve health care in rural America, where a shortage of providers limits access to primary and preventive services, reduces consumer choice and can raise costs. Panelists will highlight cutting-edge rural health models that are making a difference; explore state and national nursing-based solutions; and discuss policy implications for state and federal policymakers. Experts will consider important opportunities to improve rural health found in the recommendations of the recent Institute of Medicine report, The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health.

  • What: AARP Solutions Forum on Advancing Health in Rural America: Maximizing Nursing’s Impact In collaboration with the National Rural Health Association and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, will host an

  • When: Monday, June 13, 2011 from 9:00-11:30 a.m. ET Continental breakfast served from 8:30 to 9:00 a.m.

  • Where: Union Station Columbus Club, 50 Massachusetts Ave., NE, Washington, DC 20002.

  • How: Register early, seating is limited! Register here to attend in-person.

Join the live webcast on June 13, 2011 at 9:00-11:30 a.m. ET. (8:00-10:30 a.m. CT, 7:00-9:30 a.m. MT, 6:00-8:30 a.m. PT). Register here for the live webcast.

An archived version of the webcast will be posted for viewing any time after June 13, 2011 at 5:00 p.m. ET (4:00 p.m. CT, 3:00 p.m. MT, 2:00 p.m. PT), which you can access here

For additional information, contact Michael Pheulpin, 202-434-3882, mpheulpin@aarp.org.